TAUS. Inc.


In 1999, a group of Tanzanian in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey held a retreat in Leominster MA and invited Pastor Mbwana – the then President of the Tanzania Union – to be the main speaker. One of messages that Pr. Mbwana gave to his audience was “don’t forget home.” He urged all Tanzanian Adventists in diaspora to support church activities. This challenge led to formation of TAUS TAUS as an organization, which was registered as TAUS INC. by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in Feb 2002. TAUS Inc. is a Federal tax-exempted non-profit 501 (c) organization. The founding members of TAUS Inc. were only about 25. Current TAUS membership is over 300 and still growing. To increase efficiency and coordination, TAUS is now divided into seven administrative units called Chapters.


New England Chapter:

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island,                                               and Vermont

Mid-Atlantic Chapter:

New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania

East North Central Chapter:

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin and Canada

South Atlantic Chapter:

Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South                                                                Carolina,Virginia, Washington D.C, and West Virginia

Pacific Chapter:

Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, and Washington

West North Central Chapter:

Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota,                                                              and South Dakota

East South-Central Chapter:

Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Tennessee

West South-Central Chapter:

Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas

Mountain Chapter:

Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and                                                Wyoming

Note: The West South-Central  and Mountain Chapters are not yet active.